Our Criminal Defense Law Firm Protects Your Rights in Vehicular Manslaughter Prosecution in Boise and Nampa
DUI and reckless driving homicide charges in the Idaho courts
If you are involved in an accident resulting in serious injuries or deaths, law enforcement investigates the case for possible criminality. The frightening prospect of being charged with vehicular manslaughter compounds the trauma of your involvement in a horrific accident. During this emotionally devastating time, your every word and action is under scrutiny by police.
Gulstrom, Roark & Govia PC was founded in 2001 to defend clients in Boise and Nampa charged with crimes in the Idaho criminal justice system. Do not wait to be charged with a crime before you contact our criminal defense law firm to represent you. We can protect your rights during the investigation of the fatal accident. Through our early intervention, you may avoid charges or prevent the collection of incriminating evidence.
Definition of vehicular manslaughter
Manslaughter is defined by Idaho Statute 18-4006 as the unlawful killing of a human being without malice. Vehicular manslaughter is charged if law enforcement determines that your operation of a motor vehicle significantly contributed to the fatal accident because you committed:
- An unlawful non-felony act without gross negligence
- An unlawful non-felony act with gross negligence
- A violation of section 18-8004 of the Idaho code, driving under the influence of alcohol, drugs or other intoxicating substances (DUI)
- A violation of section 18-8006 of the Idaho code (aggravated DUI)
In addition, Idaho Statute 18-8007 makes it a crime to leave the scene of an accident resulting in injuries or deaths.
Potential penalties for vehicular homicide
The penalties you face for vehicular manslaughter depend on whether the prosecution claims you caused the accident by:
- Absence of gross negligence or DUI — up to one year in jail and up to a $2,000 fine
- Gross negligence — up to 10 years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine
- DUI and aggravated DUI — up to 15 years’ incarceration and up to a $15,000 fine
The court may also order you to pay support for minor children if you are convicted of fatally injuring their parents and suspend your driver license for a period as determined by the law.
The prosecution does not have to prove that you were drunk or reckless to win a felony conviction for leaving the scene of an accident where injuries or deaths occurred. Leaving the scene of a fatal accident is punishable by up to five years imprisonment, up to a $5,000 fine and driver license revocation for one year.
If you were involved in a fatal accident, contact our Boise criminal defense lawyers to protect your rights
To protect your rights after a fatal accident, Gulstrom, Roark & Govia PC represents you during the investigation and after charges have been filed for vehicular manslaughter.
To schedule your free consultation, contact us online or call 208-546-9933.